Live Chat

SDL 语言解决方案的历史

自 1984 年进入翻译软件市场以来,TRADOS(于 2005 年被 SDL 收购,现称为 SDL Trados)就在业内享有极高的知名度。

SDL Trados 一直致力于提供创新且强大的翻译记忆库软件,客户呈稳定增长态势,翻译专业用户已超过 250,000 名(包括自由译员和大型企业)。

Daniel Brockmann 和 Matthias Heyn 回顾 TRADOS 过去 30 年的历史。 (19 分钟)

发展初期

Trados (TRAnslation & DOcumentation Software) 于 1984 年由 Jochen Hummel 和 Iko Knyphausen 在德国斯图加特创立。

Hummell 和 Knyphausen 最初将 TRADOS 定位为语言服务提供商 (LSP),并决定以此参与 IBM 的翻译项目的投标。

80 年代

随着翻译内容的需求逐渐增加,计算机辅助翻译 (CAT) 工具于 80 年代中期兴起。 译员工作速度无法跟上客户的任务增长,缩小供需差距的技术应运而生。 Hummell 和 Knyphausen 意识到了该技术蕴藏的机遇,于是着手开发软件以解决此问题。

1988 年,公司迈向翻译记忆库时代。TRADOS 开发出了 TED,这是 Translator's Workbench( SDL Trados 2007 Suite 中的翻译记忆库应用程序之一)的雏形。 大概在这个时期,TRADOS 决定将公司拆分,将翻译服务部分的业务出售给荷兰的 INK,从而专注于翻译软件开发。 TRADOS 经过一段时间才确立翻译技术提供商的地位,但是诸多成功的战略决策迅速推动了 Trados 的发展,例如将软件开发转移至 Microsoft Windows 平台。

90 年代

1990 年,TRADOS 向市场推出其第一个产品 MultiTerm术语数据库,现称为 SDL MultiTerm)。 不久后,Translator's Workbench 的首个版本于 1992 年面市。 Trados 于 90 年代中期开始发展壮大。 斯图加特大学计算机语言专家 Matthias Heyn 加入公司并开发了市场第一款对齐工具(T Align,后来成为 WinAlign,是 SDL Trados 2007 Suite 中的应用程序之一)。 此外,TRADOS 开始在世界各地设立办事处,包括布鲁塞尔、弗吉尼亚州、英国和瑞士。

90 年代,翻译软件技术取得了长足进步。 个人计算机变得更加先进也更为便宜,许多自由译员从中获益良多,也意味着 CAT 工具变得越来越普及。 使用桌面翻译记忆库工具不仅能节省时间,还能提高翻译质量,同时借助网络通过服务器技术实时共享翻译资产也可以提高工作效率。 这有助于加快内容本地化的速度,帮助企业开拓新市场,并使用客户的语言与其进行沟通。

新千年

尽管有其他翻译软件提供商崭露头角,但 TRADOS 在迈入新千年的翻译行业中仍然保有大部分市场份额。 2005 年 SDL 收购 Trados 后,这两大市场领跑者得以充分利用各自的产品和技术知识为其客户提供更多功能和特色。

当时问世的产品 SDL Trados 2007 Suite 融合经 25 年研发而成的强大技术与创新功能,包括自动翻译(测试),有助进一步提高翻译流程的速度和效率。

25 周年

2009 年,SDL 推出了 Trados 产品的 Studio 系列,这是新一代翻译记忆库软件,是对本地化专家工作方式的彻底变革。 SDL Trados Studio 2009 不仅集合了 TRADOS 和 SDLX 的强大功能,还是 25 年来翻译软件专家辛勤研发的结晶,其研发投资超过 1 亿美元。
SDL Trados 25 周年

2010 - 2013 年

继 SDL Trados Studio 2009 推出后,SDL OpenExchange 成功问世,是翻译行业首个应用商店。 SDL OpenExchange 是一个独特的开放式行业平台,使第三方开发人员和译员能够构建和推广应用及插件,现拥有超过 40 款面向译员的应用程序。

2010 年,SDL 还推出了备受赞誉的软件本地化工具 SDL Passolo 的新版本。 持续对我们备受赞誉的软件本地化工具进行创新和投资。 SDL Passolo 实现了与 SDL Trados Studio 2009 更高程度的集成,并支持机器翻译工具,例如 SDL Language Weaver。

2011 年,CAT 工具发展继续向前,SDL Trados Studio 2011 也成功上市。 SDL Trados Studio 2011 以引起重大变革的 Studio 2009 版本为基础,彻底变革了翻译和本地化专家翻译和审校的方式。该款软件在翻译记忆库和术语使用方面的功能均有所改进,运行速度更快,效率更高,还提供数百项优化功能,为用户带来卓越翻译体验。

2013 年 SDL Trados Studio 继续改进新外观并发展新功能,Studio 2014 于 2014 年 9 月成功发布并投入市场。 Studio 2014 使用更简便、速度更快捷、功能更智能,推出了全新用户界面,提供一系列自助工具和全新对齐工具。 此外,SDL OpenExchange 提供多款全新应用,提供更多功能,从而实现与第三方文件类型的兼容并增强报告和分析功能。

2013 年,SDL 还推出了全新版本的协作软件 SDL Studio GroupShare。 GroupShare 2014 的全新功能让团队协作以及翻译记忆库和术语共享变得更简便。 工作分配、通知和项目跟踪流程得以简化,为项目经理提供了支持,从而提高业务效率和质量。

Trados 问世 30 年

至 2014 年,Trados 问世已有 30 年。 Trados 品牌创建于 1984 年 9 月 26 日,并在过去 30 年里成功成为了计算机辅助翻译 (CAT) 工具的代名词。

Trados 如今已成为全球行业标准,30 年来有过无数竞争对手,竞相模仿此一流产品的特点和功能。

Trados 实现的 CAT 工具产品研发创新如今通过 SDL Trados Studio 的强大功能继续发扬,并将在整个 SDL 翻译效率产品平台的发展进程中进一步发挥作用。

下一代翻译软件

继 Trados 成立 30 周年后,我们在 2015 年迎来了 SDL Trados Studio 2015 的发布。 Studio 2015 更看重个性化功能和漂亮的用户界面,再一次为 CAT 工具的发展制定了标准。 Studio 2015 将生产效率作为产品的核心,其中包括的功能部件有 SDL AutoSuggest 2.0 和 Retrofit 等。 随着业界对质量的日益重视,Studio 2015 还引入了翻译质量评估 (TQA),用来衡量翻译质量并为其打分。

在 2015 年,我们还发布了 SDL Studio GroupShare 2015,改进了项目经理对大量项目的管理。 同时,也对 GroupShare REST API 进行了扩展,提供了用户体验中的分配和开发功能,给予 GroupShare 前所未有的易用性。

在 2016 年初,SDL Passolo 2016 面世。 此市场领先的软件本地化工具旨在提高移动格式的生产效率和质量,并增强了对 Android 的支持。 SDL Passolo 2016 利用 Passolo 2016 Collaboration Edition 处理分散式软件项目时,对项目同步流程也起到推波助澜的作用,同时还引入了现代用户界面,操作更方便。

2016 年,我们还将 SDL OpenExchange 重新打造为 SDL AppStore 品牌。 借助 SDL OpenExchange 的辉煌,SDL AppStore 向所有 SDL 客户提供了各种扩展软件和改进用户体验的方式。 

我们在 2016 年末发放了 SDL 翻译技术洞察调查问卷,收集到来自 115 个国家或地区的自由译员、语言服务提供商和公司的答复。 此调查关注围绕翻译技术趋势的五项洞察,包括质量、生产效率、新工作方式、集成和用户体验。

在 2016 年下半年,具备两大创新亮点的 SDL Trados Studio 2017 问世:即自我学习机器翻译引擎 AdaptiveMTupLIFT 技术。 这些变革性技术帮助翻译行业与时俱进,满足质量和生产效率的高需求。 其他新功能还有合并强制换行的句段,转换语言对,以及针对中文、日文和韩文的 SDL AutoSuggest - 这是 CAT 工具中的首创。

Live Chat

The history of SDL's language solutions

Since its entry into the translation software market in 1984, TRADOS (acquired by SDL in 2005 and now known as SDL Trados) has become a widely recognized name within the industry.

SDL Trados has steadily grown its customer base of over 250,000 translation professionals (from freelance translators to large enterprises) by continuously delivering innovative and robust translation memory software.

Daniel Brockmann and Matthias Heyn look back on 30 years of TRADOS. (19 minutes)

How did it start?

TRADOS (TRAnslation & DOcumentation Software) was established in Stuttgart, Germany by Jochen Hummel and Iko Knyphausen in 1984.

Hummell and Knyphausen initially set up TRADOS as a Language Service Provider (LSP) following their decision to tender for a translation project for IBM.

The 80s

The mid-eighties saw the emergence of Computer Assisted Translation (CAT) tools following the increasing demand for translated content. Translators were unable to keep up with number of translation projects being passed on to them from customers, leaving a requirement from technology to help bridge the gap between supply and demand. Hummell and Knyphausen recognized the opportunity for technology and started developing software to solve this issue.

At the dawn of the translation memory era in 1988, TRADOS developed TED, a very early version of what we know today as Translator's Workbench, one of the translation memory applications in SDL Trados 2007 Suite. It was around this time that TRADOS made the decision to split the company, passing the translation services part of the business to INK in the Netherlands, so that they could concentrate on developing translation software. It took a while for TRADOS to get established as a translation technology provider, however momentum soon built up following successful strategic decisions, including moving software development onto the Microsoft Windows platform.

The 90s

In 1990, TRADOS launched their first product, MultiTerm (a terminology database, now known as SDL MultiTerm) into the market place. The first version of Translator's Workbench was later released in 1992. Trados also started expanding as a company in the mid-nineties. Matthias Heyn, a computational linguist from the University of Stuttgart joined the company and developed the first alignment tool on the market (T Align, later to become WinAlign, one of the applications available in SDL Trados 2007 Suite). In addition, TRADOS began to open a network of global offices, including Brussels, Virginia, UK and Switzerland.

The nineties saw a marked increase of development in translation software technology. Many freelance translators were benefiting from the increasing sophistication and affordability of personal computers, meaning that CAT tools were becoming more and more commonplace. As well as the time-saving and quality benefits of using translation memory tools at a desktop level, the Internet paved the way for enhanced productivity through the real-time sharing of translation assets via server technology. This helped to rapidly accelerate the rate at which content could be localized, enabling organizations to enter new marketplaces and communicate their messaging in the language of their customers.

The new millennium

Despite the arrival of other translation software providers, TRADOS maintained a significant market share within the translation industry into the new millennium. The acquisition of TRADOS by SDL in 2005, enabled the two market leaders to leverage their respective product and technical knowledge to expand functionality and features for their customers.

The product release of SDL Trados 2007 Suite, combined both robust technology built on 25 years work of research and development, with innovative new features, including automated translation (beta), to help further increase speed and productivity within the translation process.

25 years on

2009 saw the launch of the Studio family of SDL Trados products, the next generation in translation memory software which revolutionized the way localization professionals worked. SDL Trados Studio 2009, not only merged the best of TRADOS and SDLX, but this release benefitted from the culmination of 25 years translation software expertise and over $100 million investment in R&D.
SDL Trados at 25 years

2010 to 2013

Following on from the release of SDL Trados Studio 2009, the SDL OpenExchange was launched to industry acclaim as the first application store for the translation industry. SDL OpenExchange is a unique, open industry platform, which enables 3rd party developers and translators to build and market apps and plug-ins, the SDL OpenExchange now has more than 40 apps available to translators.

2010 also saw the release of the next version of SDL Passolo, our award winning software localization tool. Continuing innovation and investment in our award-winning software localization tool. SDL Passolo added better integration with SDL Trados Studio 2009, plus support for machine translation tools such as SDL Language Weaver.

During 2011 the journey of CAT tool evolution continued and SDL Trados Studio 2011. was launched to the market. Based on the revolutionary Studio 2009 version, SDL Trados Studio 2011 transformed how translation and localization professionals translate and review; combining enhancements in the use of translation memory and terminology and offering faster performance, improved productivity and hundreds of refinements to bring the ultimate translation experience.

2013 brought a completely new look and feel to SDL Trados Studio with the release of Studio 2014 into the market in September 2014. Easier, faster, smarter, Studio 2014 introduced an updated user interface, a selection of self-help tools and a new alignment tool. And with a variety of new apps in SDL OpenExchange the functionality is even more extensive – enabling compatibility with third party files types and enhancing reporting and analysis.

2013 also saw the launch of a new version of SDL’s collaborative software, SDL Studio GroupShare. Collaboration across teams and sharing of translation memories and terminology in now easier with the new features of GroupShare 2014. The streamlining of work allocation, notifications and tracking of projects provides support for Project Managers to deliver efficiencies and increases in quality into their business.

30 years of Trados

2014 marks the 30th birthday year of Trados. The brand of Trados was created on 26 September 1984 and over the last 30 years has achieved status as the eponym for computer assisted translation (CAT) tools.

Trados is now a worldwide industry standard and over these 30 years has had many competitors who have tried to emulate the features and functionality of this world class product set.

The innovation in CAT tool product development established by Trados continues today with the SDL Trados Studio capability and further across the evolution of the entire SDL translation productivity product platform.

Next generation translation software

Following on from the 30th Anniversary of Trados, 2015 saw the release of SDL Trados Studio 2015. With a focus on increased personalization and a stunning UI, Studio 2015 once again set the standard of what a CAT Tool should be. Studio 2015 had productivity at the core of the product, which included features such as SDL AutoSuggest 2.0 and Retrofit. With quality becoming more and more of a focus within the industry, Studio 2015 also introduced Translation Quality Assessment (TQA) to measure and score the quality of translations.

2015 also saw the release of SDL Studio GroupShare 2015, giving project managers improved management over how a large number of projects can be handled. The GroupShare REST API was also extended to offer functionality around assignments and developments in the UX made GroupShare easier to work with than ever before.

In early 2016, SDL Passolo 2016 was released. This market leading software localization tool aimed to deliver increased productivity and quality for mobile formats with enhanced support for Android. This new release offered improved project synchronization flows when working with distributed software projects using Passolo 2016 Collaboration Edition and introduced a modern user interface, making it even easier to use.

2016 also introduced the re-branding of SDL OpenExchange to SDL AppStore. Building on the success of SDL OpenExchange, the launch of SDL AppStore offered all SDL customers various ways to extend their software and improve their user experience. 

Later in the year, the SDL Translation Technology Insights Survey was released, with responses collected from 2,784 Freelance Translators, LSPs and Corporations from 115 countries. The survey identified five insights around translation technology trends including quality, productivity, new ways of working, integration and user experience.

In late 2016, SDL Trados Studio 2017 was released with two big new innovations - AdaptiveMT, a self-learning machine translation engine, and upLIFT technology. These transformational technologies help the translation industry keep up with the high demand for quality and productivity. Additional new features included merging segments over hard returns, reversing language pairs and SDL AutoSuggest for Chinese, Japanese and Korean - a CAT Tool first.